Georges Guynemer
Captain Georges Guynemer, also named 'As des As' (the 'Ace of Aces').
Photo: © L’Illustration, 1916
Georges Guynemer
Guynemer flying a single-seat Nieuport XB. Note the cord with which he had to operate his Lewis gun.
Photo: © L’Illustration, 1916
Georges Guynemer
13 May 1916: Guynemer carries the flag of the French Air Force during a ceremony in the grounds of the Dijon Longvic air force base.

GEORGES GUYNEMER

Georges Guynemer was born in Paris on Sunday, 24 December 1894. His father was a former officer and his mother a descendant of an aristocratic family. Young Georges spends his early childhood at the castle of Le Thuit (Andelys). He has a happy, easy youth and grows up with the warmth and care of his mother, his two elder sisters and a German governess. He experiences rather poor health and therefore he regularly spends some time in Switzerland and in the South of France. He is fond of fencing and roller-skating and anything technical attracts his attention. In 1903, the Guynemer family takes up residence in Compiègne, where Georges attends school and prepares to study engineering at the Polytechnical School 'Saint Stanislas' in Paris. The early years of 1900 see a real breakthrough in aviation. Several French pilots show remarkable skills (Santos-Dumont, Henri Farman, Louis Blériot). This enthrals Guynemer and he discusses with his father his desire to become a pilot. In 1912, he takes his first flight.

Georges Guynemer
Captain Georges Guynemer, also named 'As des As' (the 'Ace of Aces').
Photo: © L’Illustration, 1916

Education

At the outbreak of war Georges Guynemer registers with the army but, due to his rather poor health, he is rejected twice for military service.
However, he is determined to become a pilot and through his enormous perseverance and with a little help from his father and the understanding from the commander of the military aviation school in Pau, he succeeds in reaching his goal.
At the end of 1914, Guynemer presents himself, together with his father, to commander Bernard-Thierry in Pau; but the officer also acknowledges that he is unable to satisfy Guynemer's wish to enrol in the Air Force.
The young Guynemer cries upon leaving the commander's office. The fact that this young student is very keen on serving his country impresses the commander so much that he changes his mind and hires Georges as a trainee technician and flight engineer. Due to the fact that he does not have a medical certificate nor a military training, he can only be hired as auxiliary staff. In his spare time, Georges attends some courses in mechanics. When the commander hears on 21 January 1915 that 100 new recruits are to be enrolled and put their names down to be trained as pilots, he adds Guynemer's name to the list despite the fact that he cannot submit the necessary documents. The following morning, Guynemer can start his theoretical and practical training at the aviation school of Avord. Despite the fact that he has crashed two aircrafts, he obtains his military pilot's license. He is sent to the front as corporal-pilot, where he joins the "Escadrille M.S (Morane-Saulnier) 3" in Vauciennes.

Georges Guynemer
Guynemer flying a single-seat Nieuport XB. Note the cord with which he had to operate his Lewis gun.
Photo: © L’Illustration, 1916

Pilot

He gains his first aerial victory on 19 July 1915. In February 1916, he is appointed an 'ace', a notation granted in France to a pilot after five victories. Ultimately Guynemer participates in more than 600 aerial combats. He is shot down seven times, but each time survives and attains 53 confirmed victories in addition to around 32 unconfirmed victories in enemy territory.
On 8 February 1917, while flying a SPAD VII, Guynemer becomes the first allied forces pilot who succeeds in downing a heavy German bomber (Gotha G.III°), with the help of André Chainat.
On 18 February 1917, he is promoted to captain and on 11 June he becomes the youngest officer in the Legion of Honour of the French army. On 4 September, he is appointed as head of the squadron, but technical break-downs of his aircraft make him feel nervous and tense. His moral reaches an all-time low, even more so due to the fact that his superiors consider the idea of removing him from the scene of battle and appointing him as an instructor.

Georges Guynemer
13 May 1916: Guynemer carries the flag of the French Air Force during a ceremony in the grounds of the Dijon Longvic air force base.

His last flight

On Monday morning, 11 September 1917, at 8.25 a.m., Guynemer takes off in his SPAD from Saint-Pol-sur-Mer patrolling the battlefields of the 'Westhoek'. He crashes near the municipality of Poelkapelle. The exact circumstances of Guynemer's downing will always remain a mystery. It is clear however, that while he is engaged in an air fight with German two-seaters, he is hit. His aircraft bores down on the Albatros of the German Kurt Wisseman and ultimately crashes. Later the German High Command declares that he has been shot down by Wisseman.

Georges Guynemer
It was not long before Guynemer was to fly under the name 'Le vieux Charles' ('The Old Charles'). A name that he would never change.
Photo: © The museum de l'air et de l'espace in Bourget

OPENING TIMES OF THE PAVILION

  • The Guynemer Pavillion will be open from March 17, 2018.
  • Wednesday until Saturday from 10am to 6.30pm
  • The first two Sundays of each month from 10am to 5pm
  • On the other Sundays of each month from 10am to 12.30pm and in the afternoon by appointment only and with a certified guide

ENTRANCE FEES: PAVILJON

INDIVIDUALS 6 years and above5.00 euro

GROUPS From 10 persons4.50 euro
  From 30 persons4.00 euro

GUIDE Per tour40.00 euro

Georges Guynemer
It was not long before Guynemer was to fly under the name 'Le vieux Charles' ('The Old Charles'). A name that he would never change.
Photo: © The museum de l'air et de l'espace in Bourget

Georges Guynemer
Le capitaine Georges Guynemer, surnommé l’As des As
Photo : © L’Illustration, 1916
Georges Guynemer
Guynemer à bord de son monoplace Nieuport XB. Remarquez la corde dont il doit se servir pour activer son fusil Lewis.
Photo : © L’Illustration, 1916
Georges Guynemer
Le 13 mai 1916 : Guynemer porte le drapeau de la force aérienne française lors d’une cérémonie officielle organisée sur les terrains de la base aérienne de Dijon Longvic

GEORGES GUYNEMER

Georges Guynemer est né le dimanche 24 décembre 1894 à Paris. Son père est un ancien officier et sa mère est issue de la noblesse. Le jeune Georges passe sa petite enfance au château Le Thuit (à Andelys). Il y vit une jeunesse insouciante, entouré des soins de sa mère, de ses deux sœurs aînées et d’une gouvernante allemande. Ne jouissant pas d’une bonne santé, il séjourne fréquemment en Suisse et dans le Midi de la France. Il aime l’escrime, le patinage à roulettes et est attiré par tout ce qui concerne la technique. En 1903, les Guynemer s’installent à Compiègne. Georges y fait ses études et se prépare à une formation d’ingénieur à l’Ecole Polytechnique Saint Stanislas à Paris. Le début des années 1900 est également marqué par la percée de l’aviation. Plusieurs pilotes français se distinguent par des exploits impressionnants (Santos-Dumont, Henri Farman, Louis Blériot). Guynemer est fort intrigué par leurs actes et il déclare à son père qu’il veut devenir pilote. En 1912, il fait son baptême de l’air.

Georges Guynemer
Le capitaine Georges Guynemer, surnommé l’As des As
Photo : © L’Illustration, 1916

Formation

Après le déclenchement de la guerre, Georges se présente à l’armée, mais il est refusé à deux reprises à cause de sa santé délicate.
Il est néanmoins bien décidé à devenir pilote et son incroyable ténacité lui permet d’atteindre son but, aidé par un petit coup de pouce de son père et par la compréhension du commandant de l’Ecole d’Aviation militaire à Pau.
Fin 1914, Guynemer se présente avec son père au commandant Bernard-Thierry à Pau. L’officier confirme qu’il lui est impossible de satisfaire au souhait de Guynemer d’intégrer l’armée de l’air.
En quittant le bureau du commandant, le jeune Guynemer est en larmes. Fortement impressionné par ce jeune étudiant qui veut à tout prix servir son pays, l’officier se ravise et engage Guynemer comme apprenti technicien et mécanicien de bord. Comme il ne possède pas d’attestation médicale et qu’il n’a pas suivi une formation militaire, il ne peut être engagé que comme personnel auxiliaire. En dehors de ses heures de service, Guynemer se plonge dans des cours de mécanique. Lorsque, le 21 janvier 1915, le commandant apprend que 100 nouvelles recrues vont se présenter comme candidats pilotes, il ajoute le nom de Guynemer à la liste, nonobstant le fait que ce dernier ne peut pas produire les documents nécessaires. Le lendemain, Guynemer entame sa formation théorique et pratique à l’école d’aviation d’Avord. Bien qu’il démolisse deux avions d’exercice, il obtient son brevet militaire. Il est envoyé au front en tant que caporal pilote, où il est affecté à l’escadrille «M.S (Morane-Saulnier) 3» à Vauciennes.

Georges Guynemer
Guynemer à bord de son monoplace Nieuport XB. Remarquez la corde dont il doit se servir pour activer son fusil Lewis.
Photo : © L’Illustration, 1916

Pilote

Il remporte sa première victoire le 19 juillet 1915. En février 1916, Guynemer décroche le titre d’«As», attribué en France après avoir remporté 5 victoires aériennes.
Guynemer participera finalement à plus de 600 combats aériens, il sera abattu sept fois, mais en réchappera chaque fois et obtiendra 53 victoires homologuées. Parallèlement, pas moins de 32 victoires non homologuées au-dessus de territoire ennemi lui sont également attribuées.
Le 8 février 1917, à bord d’un SPAD VII, il est le premier pilote des alliés qui réussit, avec André Chainat, à abattre un lourd bombardier allemand (le Gotha G.III°).
Le 18 février 1917, il devient capitaine et, le 11 juin, il est le plus jeune officier décoré de la Légion d’Honneur de l’armée française. Le 4 septembre, il est nommé chef d’escadron, mais des problèmes techniques de son appareil le rendent nerveux et tendu. Son moral est au plus bas, d’autant plus que ses supérieurs envisagent de le retirer du champ de bataille et de l’engager comme instructeur.

Georges Guynemer
Le 13 mai 1916 : Guynemer porte le drapeau de la force aérienne française lors d’une cérémonie officielle organisée sur les terrains de la base aérienne de Dijon Longvic

Son dernier vol

Le lundi 11 septembre 1917, à 8h25, Guynemer part de Saint-Pol-sur-Mer avec son SPAD pour un vol de reconnaissance au-dessus des champs de bataille du Westhoek. Son avion s’écrase dans les environs de Poelkapelle. Les conditions exactes dans lesquelles l’avion de Guynemer a été abattu restent une énigme, mais il est certain qu’il était impliqué dans un combat aérien avec des biplaces allemands et qu’il fut touché. Son appareil a plongé devant l’Albatros de l’Allemand Kurt Wisseman et s’est finalement écrasé. Selon le haut commandement allemand, le SPAD et son pilote ont été abattus par Wisseman.

Georges Guynemer
Très tôt, Guynemer baptisera ses avions « Vieux Charles », un nom qui ne changera plus.
Photo : © Le musée de l'air et de l'espace in Bourget

HEURES D’OUVERTURE DU PAVILLON

  • Le pavillon Guynemer est ouvert au public à partir du 17 mars 2018.
  • Du mercredi au samedi, de 10h à 18h30
  • Les deux premiers dimanches du mois, de 10h à 17h
  • Les autres dimanches du mois de 10h à 12h30, l’après-midi uniquement sur rendez-vous, accompagné d’un guide

TARIFS PAVILLON

INDIVIDUEL À partir de 6 ans5,00 euros

GROUPES À partir de 10 personnes4,50 euros
  À partir de 30 personnes4,00 euros

GUIDE Par visite40,00 euros

Georges Guynemer
Très tôt, Guynemer baptisera ses avions « Vieux Charles », un nom qui ne changera plus.
Photo : © Le musée de l'air et de l'espace in Bourget