Georges Guynemer
The pavilion will not only bring the story of Georges Guynemer, but also of the air battles during the First World War.
Photo: © VOF Guynemer
Georges Guynemer
Showpiece of the pavilion will be the replica of a Morane-Saulnier L, built by VTI Ieper.
Photo: © Kurt Vandewalle
Georges Guynemer
The pavilion will give the visitor a good view on the fast growing technics of the airplanes during the First World War.
Photo: © Kurt Vandewalle

The Guynemer Pavilion

Georges Guynemer's name and the municipality of Poelkapelle have been inextricably connected with each other for 100 years. Many associations, squares, houses, footpaths, regional products… are often named after this French fighter pilot.
Since the 8th of July 1923, an elegant monument, featuring a stork, has adorned the roundabout in the centre of Poelkapelle. It is one of the greatest monuments dedicated to one hero who fought in the Ypres Salient during the First World War. The 'flying ace' Georges Guynemer therefore still has an incredible impact on the municipality and the region today.  
A pavilion, named after him, will open 100 years after he lost his life close to Poelkapelle. The pavilion not only tells the story of his life, but also of many other pilots, whether they were friend or foe. In the pavilion special attention is also paid to the enormous development of aviation during the First World War. Of course, the highlight for the visitors to the pavilion will be a replica of the Morane-Saulnier.

Georges Guynemer
The pavilion will not only bring the story of Georges Guynemer, but also of the air battles during the First World War.
Photo: © VOF Guynemer

Georges Guynemer

In the Pavilion, all the fine details of the extraordinary life of the combative Georges Guynemer are set out. The use of information panels, multimedia and a real movie theatre will give you a clearer perspective of the life of this innovative and ambitious French squadron commander in the early years of aviation.

Georges Guynemer
Showpiece of the pavilion will be the replica of a Morane-Saulnier L, built by VTI Ieper.
Photo: © Kurt Vandewalle

Friend and foe

In the First World War, fighter pilots were very often regarded as heroes for their courage and boldness. The pilots were also admired by many people, because aircrafts had only been known for 10 years, and pilots were compared with the knights of history who fought against each other. The story of the fight between Guynemer and the German pilot Udet is a perfect example of this. When Guynemer noticed that Udet's machine guns had blocked during their fight, he saluted his rival and flew off. For his exploits and chivalrous behaviour he was given the nickname "Guynemer, the legendary".
In the pavilion a great deal of attention is paid to Georges Guynemer's supporters as well as to his adversaries.

Georges Guynemer
The pavilion will give the visitor a good view on the fast growing technics of the airplanes during the First World War.
Photo: © Kurt Vandewalle

Morane-Saulnier

The highlight of the pavilion will be a replica of the Morane-Saulnier. This replica has been constructed by the students of the Technical College in Ypres (VTI Ieper) and is a reproduction of the aircraft in which Georges Guynemer attained numerous victories.
He attained his first aerial victory, flying his Morane-Saulnier Type L (Parasol), together with his mechanical engineer and machine gunner, Charles Guerder.  This aircraft had not yet been given the name ‘Le Vieux Charles’ ('The Old Charles'), as all other planes that he flew later had.  Guynemer flew a number of different types of planes: Morane-Saulnier Type L, Nieuport 10, SPA3, SPAD VII, SPAD XIII and SPAD XII. The last mentioned plane – with two machine guns – was developed after Guynemer had made some comments on the SPAD VII and suggested proposals for improvement.  In 1917, at Guynemer's instigation, a 37 mm canon was mounted on the aircraft. When Guynemer started to fly a Nieuport, he named all his aircrafts 'Le Vieux Charles'.  The Escadrille MS3 changed its name to Escadrille N3 (by Nieuport). Only from about June 1916 onwards, was the 'Stork' symbol used on the aircrafts.

OPENING TIMES OF THE PAVILION

  • The Guynemer Pavillion will be open from March 17, 2018.
  • Wednesday until Saturday from 10am to 6.30pm
  • The first two Sundays of each month from 10am to 5pm
  • On the other Sundays of each month from 10am to 12.30pm and in the afternoon by appointment only and with a certified guide

ENTRANCE FEES: PAVILJON

INDIVIDUALS 6 years and above5.00 euro

GROUPS From 10 persons4.50 euro
  From 30 persons4.00 euro

GUIDE Per tour40.00 euro

Georges Guynemer
Dans le pavillon, vous découvrez non seulement l'histoire de Georges Guynemer, mais aussi celle de l'aviation durant la Première Guerre Mondiale.
Photo : © VOF Guynemer
Georges Guynemer
La réplique Morane-Saulnier, réalisée par l'école technique d'Ypres, y sera la pièce de résistance.
Photo : © Kurt Vandewalle
Georges Guynemer
Obtenez dans le pavillon une meilleure compréhension des techniques évoluantes des avions pendant la Première Guerre Mondiale.
Photo : © Kurt Vandewalle

Le pavillon Guynemer

La figure de Georges Guynemer et la commune de Poelkapelle sont intimement liées depuis 100 ans déjà. Nombre d’associations, de places communales, de maisons, de sentiers de promenade, de produits régionaux, etc. portent le nom du pilote de guerre français.
Depuis le 8 juillet 1923, le rond-point à l’entrée de Poelkapelle est orné d’une stèle élancée, surmontée d’une cigogne. C’est l’un des monuments les plus grands dédié à un héros de la bataille du Saillant d’Ypres pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. L’impact de cet «As» sur la commune et ses environs est immense.
100 ans après qu’il fut abattu au-dessus de Poelkapelle, un pavillon portant son nom est inauguré. Ce pavillon retrace l’histoire de sa vie, ainsi que celle de nombreux autres pilotes, autant amis qu’ennemis. Une attention particulière est également portée à l’énorme évolution qu’a connue l’aviation au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale. La réplique du Morane –Saulnier y attirera bien sûr tous les regards.   

Georges Guynemer
Dans le pavillon, vous découvrez non seulement l'histoire de Georges Guynemer, mais aussi celle de l'aviation durant la Première Guerre Mondiale.
Photo : © VOF Guynemer

Georges Guynemer

L’histoire extraordinaire, très combative de Guynemer est décrite de long en large. Des panneaux d’informations, supports multimédias et une véritable salle de cinéma offrent un meilleur regard sur la vie de ce capitaine français inventif et ambitieux au cours des premières années de l’aviation.

img src="/images/paviljoen/foto2.jpg" alt="Georges Guynemer" />
La réplique Morane-Saulnier, réalisée par l'école technique d'Ypres, y sera la pièce de résistance.
Photo : © Kurt Vandewalle

Ami et ennemi

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, les aviateurs furent très souvent considérés comme des héros en raison de leur audace et de leur courage. Les avions n’existent alors que depuis 10 ans et c’est en partie grâce à cela que les pilotes forcent l’admiration de beaucoup de gens. Ils se livrent également à des combats chevaleresques. L’histoire du combat entre Guynemer et le pilote allemand Udet en est un bel exemple. Les mitrailleuses d’Udet se sont bloquées pendant un combat contre Guynemer. Après avoir remarqué ce problème, Guynemer a épargné son adversaire, l’a salué et s’est envolé. Ses exploits et son comportement chevaleresque en ont fait un héros légendaire.
Le pavillon met également en évidence les alliés et les adversaires de Georges Guynemer.   

Georges Guynemer
Obtenez dans le pavillon une meilleure compréhension des techniques évoluantes des avions pendant la Première Guerre Mondiale.
Photo : © Kurt Vandewalle

Morane-Saulnier

Le point de mire du pavillon sera assurément la réplique du Morane-Saulnier. Elle a été réalisée par les élèves de l’école technique VTI à Ypres et est la réplique de l’avion avec lequel Georges Guynemer a remporté de nombreuses victoires.
Il a décroché sa première victoire aérienne avec son mécanicien-mitrailleur Charles Guerder, à bord de son Morane-Saulnier Type L (Parasol). Cet avion ne portait pas encore le nom de ‘Vieux Charles’ dont il baptisa tous ses avions ultérieurs. Guynemer a volé avec différents types d’appareils : Morane-Saulnier Type L, Nieuport 10, SPA3, SPAD VII, SPAD XIII et SPAD XII. Ce dernier – équipé de deux mitrailleuses – fut développé après que Guynemer eut émis des commentaires sur le SPAD VII et fait des propositions d’amélioration. C’est également sous son impulsion que cet avion fut doté d’un canon 37 mm en 1917. Guynemer baptisera ses avions ‘Le Vieux Charles’ dès qu’il volera avec un Nieuport. Quant à l’Escadrille MS3, elle fut rebaptisée Escadrille N3 (de Nieuport). Son emblème - des cigognes - est apposé pour la première fois sur les appareils vers juin 1916.

HEURES D’OUVERTURE DU PAVILLON

  • Le pavillon Guynemer est ouvert au public à partir du 17 mars 2018.
  • Du mercredi au samedi, de 10h à 18h30
  • Les deux premiers dimanches du mois, de 10h à 17h
  • Les autres dimanches du mois de 10h à 12h30, l’après-midi uniquement sur rendez-vous, accompagné d’un guide

TARIFS PAVILLON

INDIVIDUEL À partir de 6 ans5,00 euros

GROUPES À partir de 10 personnes4,50 euros
  À partir de 30 personnes4,00 euros

GUIDE Par visite40,00 euros